jump to navigation

My first time Hypergrid standalone June 2, 2011

Posted by justincc in hypergrid, opensim, personal, secondlife, virtual-environments, virtual-worlds.
trackback

Okay, so I know this will come as a bit of a surprise to some, but up till now I’ve never run a Hypergrid-enabled OpenSimulator instance.  Oh sure, I’ve looked at the documentation, read and reviewed the code and even written blog posts about it, but I’ve never found the time to actually put theory into practice.

Until now, that is.  Early this week, Nebadon Izumi was kind enough to give me some space on one of his openSUSE 11.2 servers and so I got to work.  First off, I cloned the very latest OpenSimulator development code from the Git repository, which was on Wed Jun 1 (commit 0a430bb).  I don’t advise this unless you’ve got the time and inclination to cope with all the issues of being on the very, very bleeding edge, especially right now as Diva is implementing HG friends and instant messaging :).

Then, after a standard prebuild.sh; nant; cp bin/OpenSim.ini.example bin/OpenSim.ini, I went in to bin/ and

  1. Changed the http_listener_port in the [Network] section to 20000 from 9000.
  2. Uncommented the Include-Architecture = “config-include/StandaloneHypergrid.ini” line.
  3. cp config-include/StandaloneCommon.ini.example config-include/StandaloneCommon.ini
  4. Opened the StandaloneCommon.ini file and did a search and replace of all “127.0.0.1:9000” references with “justincc.osgrid.org:20000”
  5. Started up mono –debug OpenSim.exe and answered the questions to set up an initial region, with a Location of 10000, 10000 and an ExternalHostName of justincc.osgrid.org
  6. Answered further questions to set this up in an estate called e1 owned by a user called Justin Clark-Casey with my own password.

Actually, I’m lying – at first I tried using port 9000, having forgotten that Nebadon gave me a different port range.  However, I soon realized when OpenSim complained of not being able to use that port on the first startup!

Okay, I’m also lying in that I started an ordinary standalone first just to check that everything actually worked before plunging into the relative unknown.

But after doing those other things, I logged in with the old 1.23 Second Life viewer and was pleasantly surprised to find that the direct login to -loginuri justincc.osgrid.org:20000 still worked.  After futzing around a bit, I went to the Hypergates website and clicked on the “Hypergrid Jump” link for the “Newest” Bellona Network Hypergates entry, which happened to be John Rogate’s Creative Twists region on osgrid.org (my address is justincc.osgrid.org but since it’s a hypergrid standalone it’s actually entirely independent from the rest of OSGrid).

And lo and behold, Firefox complained that it didn’t understand the protocol. (not surprising on my Ubuntu 11.04 box).  So I looked at the link manually

secondlife://hg.osgrid.org:80:twistsannex/151/158/31

noting the cool way that OSGrid’s hypergrid gateway address was embedded in a ‘normal’ Second Life link.  I remembered that you could click these things directly in the viewer chat, so I pasted it in, gave it a click, was pleased to note that my totally flat green map tile came up in the Place Information dialog and clicked Teleport.

And lo and behold, it worked!  I was able to run around this totally independent install of OpenSimulator and admire the architecture.  And my name had now become Justin.Clark-Casey@justincc.osgrid.org.  Fantastically cool – a truly distributed metaverse! (yeah, yeah, I know, I’m late to the party :).  Then I couldn’t teleport out again, though I suspect this is actually a network issue that John has.  And right now the region can’t be reached, which stops me posting a picture of it.  So instead, here’s a nice picture of when I went to one of Ai Austin’s OpenVue regions (secondlife://virtual.aiai.ed.ac.uk:8002:Vue-9000/128/128/30)

and then on to Lbsa Plaza (secondlife://hg.osgrid.org:80:Lbsa%20Plaza/128/128/40), which for some reason locks me to the edge of the region on initial teleport, though I can then reteleport within the sim and everything works.

A couple of times I got bit by the “4096” bug, where you can’t hypergrid to any region more than 4096 regions away on the x or y axis from your current region (Linden Lab thought that 16,777,216 regions ought to be enough for anybody ;).  This specific teleport failure reason only appears to be printed in the OpenSimulator log at the moment which can leave the user a bit mystified.  And early on, I was trying to figure out why I couldn’t get to secondlife://hg.osgrid.org:80/Wright%20Plaza/128/128/30 from justincc.osgrid.org, until Nebadon pointed out to me that both my region and Wright Plaza had the co-ordinate 10000, 10000 (which tends to upset things :).

Getting an OSGrid user into my justincc.osgrid.org and setting up FreeSWITCH on my hypergrid standalone was another adventure, which I’ll write more about soon.

If you want some more structured hypergrid instructions, there’s a page on the OpenSimulator wiki though I’m not sure how up to date it currently is for OpenSimulator 0.7.1.1.  And there’s also Diva’s D2 distribution which is pre-configured in 2×2 Megaregion configuration with Hypergrid access.

Comments»

1. paul hugel - June 2, 2011

cool

2. Maria Korolov - June 3, 2011

Justin —

Congrats! Now you’re one of us!

Bwah ha ha! You will never be content to stay on one grid again!

3. Douglas Maxwell - June 3, 2011

Congratulations! Its like getting a tattoo, you won’t stop adding!

4. Watcher64 - June 4, 2011

Welcome Gridder!!

I had the same issues with CreativeTwists, judging by how it acted , I would agree that it is a network issue, or he just likes trapping avatars on his grid 😉

Gridding is addictive, very addictive, expect long sleepless nights looking for a new grid to hop too ….

5. justincc - June 4, 2011

Thanks everyone. I’d love to go gridding more but unfortunately the code also calls 🙂

Yes, blackhole sims are amusing the first time and frustrating after that.

6. Mein erstes mal - HyperGrid Standalone | Grid Berlin Blog - June 4, 2011

[…] mit Justins eigenen Worten in englischer Sprache kann unter dem Link My first time Hypergrid standalone nachgelesen […]

7. Ener Hax - June 8, 2011

lol, something about a cobbler comes to mind (not the pie, the shoe guy) =D


Leave a Reply

