jump to navigation

Speaking at MetaMeets 2011 in Amsterdam in June April 28, 2011

Posted by justincc in opensim, personal.
trackback

Hi folks.  Just a short note to say that I’ll be speaking at the Metameets 2011 conference in Amsterdam on Friday 17 June to Sunday 19 June.  I went last year and it was a lot of fun.  As well as seeing a whole lot of interesting presentations during the day F, it was also a great opportunity to talk to people who are really passionate about virtual environments and the emerging opportunities that they present.

The social side was fantastic as well – everybody was very friendly and a large group of us went out to dinner and to various bars every night.  Being in Ireland, this meant the consumption of a large amount of guiness and a certain bleariness the next morning 🙂

Naturally, in my time slot this year I’ll be speaking about OpenSimulator and closely related topics.  However, I haven’t made up my mind as to exactly what I’ll be talking about yet, so any suggestions are welcome (especially if you’re going to be there!).  I’m likely to do a more general or user-oriented talk than anything hardcore technical, but outside of that I’m happy to have pretty much any kind of conversation.

If you’re planning on coming along to Amsterdam in June then let me know and I’ll look forward to meeting you!

On another note, and in an eerie echo of last year’s Metameets post, I’ve got a little more time right now so I plan to start writing some proper posts again soon as well as the weekly development summaries.  Look out for those in the coming weeks and if there’s anything that you’d particularly like to see covered then please let me know.

Comments»

1. Ener Hax - April 29, 2011

topics to cover eh? well you have an incredible insight into the future of OpenSim so would roadmapping be appropriate?

i liked your mention of OpenSim perhaps being as readily-deployable as say WordPress is (i think that was in convos with subQ, i don’t remember you having that online anywhere)

i would love to hear your perspective on what you “would like to see” for OpenSim in the future – is it wider adoption, specific niches, maybe areas outside our prim box viewpoints?

i would love also to know if your sessions will be recorded (if so, a textual transcription would be appreciated by some in the virtual world space – a la mechanical turk cheap)

good luck and i wish i could be there in person (but i don’t want to make you feel badly by drinking more Guinness than you, albeit i prefer room temp Spaten Optimator and i once drank two pitchers – over 3 litres . . . after a mountain bike race – gee, i miss my liver!) =D

2. justincc - April 29, 2011

I think that roadmapping is enormously difficult in an emerging industry for an open-source project where no single entity has overall control 🙂

In a funny kind of way, I think this is one of its strengths – development is driven by what people really want, since they have to be willing to put time and effort into making it happen.

But it would be good to have some rough map of where we’re going, even if that ends up changing a lot.

Off the top of my head, there are two major things that I’d like to see. Firstly, I’d like to see a much more generic user interface on the client. Instead of traditional fixed menus and dialogs, it would be great to have something much more like a web browser, where markup sent to the client determines some of the menus and windows that you see. I think this would be of great benefit to the more ‘enterprise’ uses of the technology – for instance, by sending some html/javascript one could have sophisticated game dialogs.

To some extent, this is what people already do with HUDs and the built-in web browser. But these are messy and clunky solutions. Things like media on a prim are also going in that direction – we’ll have to see how much that helps.

The second thing is that I think that it’s essential that we promote both an open-source and content ecosystem around open-source virtual environments. Look at the web and you see tons of open-source projects, all of which people can glue together in order to make the web sites and services that they need. We need the same thing for distributed virtual environments. We’ve barely started down this road.

In our case, we also need the same thing for content. But we can’t do this in the way that its been traditionally done, since no single entity has control over everything. So it absolutely has to be more weblike – the most we can do is help provide the infrastructure for preserving creator information.

3. justincc - April 30, 2011

I hope sessions will be recorded. I know Metameets did a virtual component this year but I haven’t seen any mention yet of it this year. I’ll give them a tweet.

4. justincc - May 4, 2011

I’m told there should be a virtual component. Hopefully, there will be session records too.

5. Ener Hax - May 4, 2011

thank you Justin, if you are okay with it, i would love to quote your comment because it is insightful to both OpenSim and to you

i get a sense of peace from reading your words and for the future of OpenSim – your outlook and perspective is absolutely fabulous! =)

thank you

6. justincc - May 4, 2011

That’s very generous of you Ener. Please feel free to quote anything I write if you feel that it’s worth doing 🙂

7. 0.7.1 Release is da | Grid Berlin Blog - May 6, 2011

[…] letzten Jahr war Justin schon auf dieser Konferenz und wird es dieses Jahr auch wieder sein.” Speaking at MetaMeets 2011 in Amsterdam in June ” Er wird dort über Opensimulator berichten und in der Netten und Freundlichen Umgebung […]

8. Nihlaeth - May 8, 2011

I’ll see if I can stop by, it’d certainly be very interesting.

Also, thanks for all the hard work you’ve been doing. I hope to be contributing myself in the future but I’m just not there yet with my C#.


Leave a Reply

