jump to navigation

Bugs with Flotsam XmlRpcGroups and OpenSim 0.7.0.1 and 0.7.0.2 November 16, 2010

Posted by justincc in opensim, opensim-dev, opensim-modules, secondlife, virtual-environments, virtual-worlds.
trackback

I just thought that I’d make a brief post to let me people know that there is a serious bug using the Flotsam XmlRpcGroups module (which allows groups usage with OpenSim) and OpenSim versions 0.7.0.1 and 0.7.0.2.  These problems have hopefully been addressed in OpenSim development code (by commit b1ab3ea on Friday September 17th).  A fix has also been put in the OpenSim Git 0.7-post-fixes branch.

OpenSim release 0.6.9 and the 0.6.9-post-fixes branch should be unaffected.

Unfortunately, Flotsam XmlRpcGroups is not maintained very much right now – I made some recent changes that should fix certain problems though I don’t have time to do much with it beyond getting it working for my own work.  It also doesn’t help that the setup instructions in the development OpenSim.ini.example are currently badly mangled.

As an alternative, people might want to look at the SimianGrid support for groups (though I think this involves converting to SimianGrid wholesale instead of using the ROBUST grid service backend bundled with OpenSim).  I can’t vouch for how good the instructions are but it might be worth a try.

Comments»

1. Tweets that mention Bugs with Flotsam XmlRpcGroups and OpenSim 0.7.0.1 and 0.7.0.2 | justincc.org -- Topsy.com - November 16, 2010

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mal Burns, Justin Clark-Casey. Justin Clark-Casey said: Bugs with Flotsam XmlRpcGroups and OpenSim 0.7.0.1 and 0.7.0.2 – http://bit.ly/cjPJW2 […]

2. Tom - December 6, 2010

Thanks for the heads-up. Where can we find more info about the implications of this bug? I checked the websites for OpenSim, and XmlRpcGroups and couldn’t find anything.

3. justincc - December 7, 2010

Hi Tom. The implications of this bug are that XmlRpcGroups will not be usable with either OpenSim 0.7.0.1 or 0.7.0.2 without patching it.

4. jeff kelley - December 24, 2010

How strange. I’m running 0.7.0.2 release with Flotsam XmlRpcGroups and it works. Just changed $membersVisibleTo to ‘All’ since ‘Group’ prevented to see members.

5. justincc - January 1, 2011

@Jeff – That’s rather odd – maybe I’m wrong then!

6. Randy - January 22, 2011

Hi Justin

The issue I am having is to ensure that I have placed the Flotsam XMLRPC pieces in the right place. I would like to see an itemized location of where the files should be, whether a WAMP server is required, if an off-computer (ie., external server) is required to run the XMLRPC services with re-directs back to my grid server, and most of all – where can I find a good step-by-step instruction guide to implement this. One of the largest needs I can see in my short life here on OpenSim is the ability to find good sets of instructions that (1) do not necessarily revolve around the OSGrid and (2) are not specifically running in Linux configurations (I like Windows better, myself). Any help you (or anyone) can provide for resources past the point of “rewrite the config.php file to suit your needs” would be truly welcome.

7. justincc - January 25, 2011

@Randy – I take it you’re talking about XmlRpcGroups specifically? Ideally, I would like to make installation instructions clearer but I simply lack the time. To be honest, I’m only maintaining that code because I need it and nobody else is (I didn’t actually write it).

There is talk of the open-sourcing of other groups implementations (specifically ReactionGrid) but I haven’t seen anything yet.

8. Randy - January 26, 2011

Thx Justin – yes I was talking of the Groups capability in OpenSim (non-OSGrid). Do I need an external website to place the XMLRPC to make it see the SQL? I have gotten the console to show me yellow and red line entires therefore it appears the code is running but it cannot find the SQL to generate the correct response.

9. Randy - January 26, 2011

Justincc: an additional comment. I can send you screen prints of what my OpenSim console is sending me if you can provide an email address to send it to, rather than trying to drop lines of console text here. Possibly we can find time to help me rectify this problem (or are there other modules that can be used other than XMLRPC to accommodate groups and offline messaging)?

10. justincc - January 26, 2011

@Randy – You will need to have the PHP hosted on a webserver. Personally, I run it on an Apache instance on the same box (but then my current work only requires a standalone).

The best place to send questions (and links to screenshots) would be the OpenSim user’s list at

https://lists.berlios.de/mailman/listinfo/opensim-users

I monitor that list and will do my best to answer anything on there (and that way other people can also chip in).

The SimianGrid system (http://code.google.com/p/openmetaverse/wiki/SimianGrid) provides a groups messaging functionality but that requires you to use the whole system for services (replacing the ‘ROBUST’ system shipped with OpenSim). ReactionGrid also intend to open-source their own groups system soon.


Leave a Reply

