jump to navigation

I’m now a freelance OpenSim consultant September 17, 2009

Posted by justincc in opensim, opensim-dev, personal, secondlife, virtual-environments, virtual-worlds.
trackback

Hi folks.  As of today, I’m publicly announcing my availability as a freelance open source virtual worlds consultant.  Given my history, I’m naturally going to specialize in OpenSim though I also have some knowledge of other open source virtual environment platforms.

So if you need some OpenSim-related consulting or programming, please don’t hesitate to get in touch at justincc@justincc.org or jjustincc@googlemail.com.  I’m also happy to provide free general strategic advice about OpenSim and its ecosystem, time permitting.

Here’s a copy of the information that can now be found on my hire me page.

I work as a freelance IT consultant specializing in OpenSimulator, the open source virtual environment platform compatible with Second Life clients.  I have been a core committer to OpenSimulator since December 2007 (the project itself started in January 2007).  In that time, I’ve implemented significant chunks of existing Second Life functionality, as well as performing refactoring, unit testing and bug fixes in many areas.  I’ve also created features unique to OpenSim, such as OpenSim Archives (OARs) and more recently OpenSim Inventory Archives (IARs).

You can see a record of my contributions to OpenSim (my handle is justincc).

I also have an extensive network of contacts within the OpenSim community and frequently write about OpenSim topics and development.

As a consultant, I can help you with

  • Setting up an OpenSim system – OpenSim is a complex system which isn’t always easy to get running.  Among other things, I can help you with installation, configuration and deployment of both the base system and third party modules.
  • Custom OpenSim development – I have a deep knowledge of OpenSim internals and interfaces so I can write custom modules for you or make local changes to the core parts of OpenSim.  I can also integrate suitable core changes into OpenSim itself if you wish to release them.
  • OpenSim-based application development – I can help you with the integration of OpenSim with external systems or websites to form OpenSim-based applications.  I can also port existing Second Life based applications to OpenSim where feasible.
  • Strategic advice – The area of open-source virtual environments is evolving extremely rapidly.  As well as strategic advice about the technical aspects of OpenSim, such as current development directions and system architectures, I can offer broader information about the surrounding ecosystem of virtual environment viewers, grids and content providers.I’m very happy to provide general strategic advice for free, please e-mail me.  I can produce documents and detailed strategic advice requiring original research as part of a consulting contract.

In addition to the above, I would be very interested in blogging about projects that I consult on if the details are publicly releasable.  And even if you require consulting on a confidential project, by taking out a contract you will still be directly helping the OpenSim platform by enabling me to continue to contribute open-source code and ideas.

For information about my media appearances please see my about me page.

Here is my resume.

Please don’t hesitate to e-mail me at justincc@justincc.org for information about my rates and discussion of your requirements, as well as for free strategic advice and general OpenSim-related conversation.

Comments»

1. Tweets that mention I’m now a freelance OpenSim consultant | justincc.org -- Topsy.com - September 17, 2009

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Justin Clark-Casey. Justin Clark-Casey said: Career move, I’m now a freelance OpenSim consultant ready to help with your OpenSim projects or to give advise – http://bit.ly/18RhEr […]

2. laeming - September 17, 2009

Best of luck. It’s always good to be able to work where one’s heart is.

3. Nink - September 17, 2009

Justin congratulations on your new business I am sure you will be very successful. Opensim is positioned to be the foundation of the 3D internet and you will soon be overwhelmed with work. Your unique skills and in depth knowledge of opensim is extremely valuable and I am sure your going to be in high demand.

4. Kris - September 18, 2009

Like X zillions curious about Opensim and it’s evolution, i read somes blogs, play with somes codes and so know the importance of Justin in this adventure.

If you can: …Hire him…
But trying not to kill his spirit in the process… please 😉

5. Vint - September 18, 2009

Best of luck with this, Justin! (Although I’m sure you’re so good you won’t even need the luck part! ;))

6. justincc - September 18, 2009

Thanks for the encouragement everyone – I very much appreciate it.

7. links for 2009-09-18 | Metaverse3d.com - September 20, 2009

[…] I’m now a freelance OpenSim consultant | justincc.org Partager : […]


Leave a Reply

